Our Cliff Top Winter Wedding in Cornwall

Well, well well. It’s been a while… how you doin’? I am just great, and a wife! It’s been a life changing few months and yet it all feels very normal and comforting to call ‘husband!’ and my beloved responds “WHAT????!!!!!  WHAT DO YOU WANT, WIFE?” and then we have a row about nothing and all is well. It’s not really like that I’m making it all up.  I might as well confess I’m reading Gone Girl at the moment and I’m half way through (read til 2am it was annoyingly intriguing) and I think this is affecting my storytelling of the wedding ding ding ding!

Our winter wedding in Cornwall

Why brides don’t cry on their wedding day

Anyway. I’m going to gush now. It was just the most perfect day, a perfect weekend and I was so happy the whole time I beamed and loved everyone and everything so so so much I was bursting. I felt so blissfully happy the whole thing went so smoothly, I didn’t notice anything that went wrong – even when I was informed of some teeny thing to do with the table plan I didn’t even understand the problem until last week. It was so great. I always cry and didn’t for so long that my husband asked me if I was dead inside.

Lacing the dress is a serious business

All the uncontrollable wedding variables went well

The most important things all were amazing: my husband turned up (win!), the weather was fully sunny and no wind = 14 degrees Celsius at the end of November (beers on the terrace in t-shirts weather) my dress felt amazing and my hair didn’t annoy me, the dog didn’t poo during the ceremony and no one died.

Nazan sees me for the first time

Oh my god, the cake, the perfect cake

The hotel staff were awesome, everything ran smoothly.. The cake arrived safely from London  and was a work of art and the most delicious cake ever tasted. It was made by my best girl Nazan who is a genius cake maker of wedding cakes and others too (all amazing) and if you’re well jel of the pictures then go over and talk to her at Daisy Cakes (tell her I said hi). I showed her the venue last April and she came up with the design as a surprise for me… silver leaf was the Cornish sea crashing on the cliffs, and the twining vine of ivy and beautiful anenomes was for me as they are my favourite flowers. She made two types of sponge – a dark chocolate ganache and a lemon one with lemon curd which were so delicious. It was a masterpiece. She is the talk of London town, and has tonnes of awards and so if you want her, don’t dally.

Amazing wedding cake by Daisy Cakes Greenwich

Enough about London – it was a Very Cornish Wedding

Everything else was Cornish. We had Alan Law, who’s so amazing at wedding photography, Al’s now teaching the rest of ’em how it’s done (in a very nice, charming way I’m sure with plenty of giggles). Voted among the top 30 wedding photographers in the world, Alan Law was the perfect choice because we just can’t get enough of the photos – we keep poring over them and they are just the BEST memory of the day I could have asked for. I chose him because I love his style, and when I browsed his gallery of 2013, the emotion he captured moved me to tears. So I also proclaim him a genius, just like Nazan. Are you sensing a theme here?!

Nosy bride spies out the window

I chose my dress well over a year before the wedding, at Amanda K in Truro. It was off the peg – the last one in the shop  (I’m a bit of a cheapskate when it comes to wedding dresses, I got it for a BARGAIN but won’t say anymore or Amanda might tell me off). I went down the route of investigating the eBay made-in-Chinas but got it on good authority that the cheapie ones often don’t photograph well. I thought I’d better give myself every chance of a few nice photos so I shopped around for a long time until I found this dress which truly made me feel amazing. The top was a separate thing and together I think they were perfect for me. I do think my ass looked rather too bootylicious in the pics but I think Alan was using his Nicky Minaj lens at those times maybe..? Yes. *eats 14th gingernut, nodding sagely*.

He puts a ring on it

Wedding dress dilemmas and a skinny-trouser-addict groom

Anyway, the dress was so perfect it didn’t need altering (just shortening at the hem), which was handled expertly by the magical fingers of Maria the Seamstress of Ponsanooth. I took her the Peeb’s suit for altering – the trousers came unlined, tweed! Itchy or what?? So Maria shortened and tightened and lined his slim cut tweed suit trousers slightly skinnier – and then he asked her to go skinnier again – until he was happy. He does love skinny trousers maybe a little too much BUT he was actually right, and Maria and I should say sorry for mocking him – he looked 100% f-ing fantastic on the day in all his finery. Don’t you think?

Tears and love on our wedding day in Cornwall

I should talk about the rings but I did here so only need to add that I found mine online and it was difficult to find something that went with my 100 year old diamond engagement ring, but I totally copied my friend who had an off-centre, channel set sort of eternity ring and they looked amazing together. So that was that.

I realise I have gone on a bit long for one post now.. read the next installment to find out about the venue, the band, and anything else I think of between now and then.. And if you want to ask me anything, please do, I won’t mind, even if you think it’s a bit nosey, just ask me and I may just dish.

Leave a Reply

